Click here to take the Love Language Quiz for yourself, your partner/spouse and your children.

Please Note:

For children ages 3/4 years and older, you will have to use the Quiz for children ages 9 – 12 years old.


What are the Love Languages?

“The five love languages are five different ways of expressing and receiving love: words of affirmation, quality time, receiving gifts, acts of service, and physical touch. Not everyone communicates love in the same way, and likewise, people have different ways they prefer to receive love. The concept of love languages was developed by Gary Chapman, Ph.D., in his book The 5 Love Languages: The Secret to Love That Lasts, where he describes these five unique styles of communicating love, categories he distilled from his experience in marriage counseling and linguistics.”

“We all may relate to most of these languages, but each of us has one that speaks to us the most,” marriage and family therapist Sunny Motamedi, Psy.D. Read more here.


Here are the 5 Love Languages:

1. Acts of Service:

For these people, actions speak louder than words.

2. Receiving Gifts

For some people, receiving a heartfelt gift is what makes them feel most loved.

3. Quality Time

This language is all about giving the other person your undivided attention.

4. Words of Affirmation

This language uses words to affirm other people.

5. Physical Touch

To this person, nothing speaks more deeply than appropriate physical touch and connection.

Learn more here about the 5 Love Languages.


Parenting Reflections:

  • What is your Love Language and the Love Language of your family members?
  • What did you learn about your Connection needs and the Connection needs of your family members?


Parenting Practice:

  • Can you use the Love Language information to inform your Quality Time plan or to work to meet the basic human need for Connection for yourself or your children?